Posted by: Jace O'Mallan | January 2, 2010

The Advantages of Social Networking

Being a business major at the University of Nevada, Reno you would think that I am on every social network website on the Internet. It wasn’t until my last semester at school that I finally set myself up on accounts such as Facebook, LinkedIn,  and Twitter. When Bret Simmons, my Entrepreneurial Psychology professor, challenged me to find my value I realized that I haven’t been doing my part to brand myself out to the world. It was time for some changes in the way I represent myself in the social network scheme.

The first thing I did was cancel my MySpace account due to its juvenile nature and my presence as well. The next step was changing up my Facebook account and signing up for Twitter as well. At first I thought Twitter was another mediocre social network online with a stupid name attached to it. Then I realized that it was a great place to connect with interesting and knowledgeable individuals.

Now that I am connected to all these places, I am beginning my long and eventful journey to finding myself and knowing my value as a person and as a professional.

Responses

  1. MGT 491\691 is a great class on personal branding. Dr Bret Simmons provided a great insight on how to use technology to create positive personal brand. Hopefully, we can have a great impact with our new found voice.

    • I totally agree with you Deepak. It will be nice if I can really benefit in the future from our experiences in MGT 491/691.


Leave a Reply

Categories

